Confessions of a Control Freak

After accepting that I’m a control freak, I set out on a journey to explore what it really means to be a control freak – this is documented in two videos.

Video 1 (link: https://youtu.be/gaBTOX691aY)

In this video I look at how being a control freak has affected my life. As part of taking steps towards letting go of the need to feel that I’m in control, I accepted my brother’s challenge to hand over the raw footage to him and have no inputs in the editing process. The first time that I would see the final video would be when it’s live on our social media platforms. As a control freak, the fact that I would not influence how the footage would be presented was making me so anxious, especially because I was touching on such a personal matter.

Video 2 (link: https://youtu.be/OiaE2jUrqA0)

 In the days running up to releasing the final video I reflected on my journey; whether I was making different decisions and how I was feeling. This is shown in video 2 where you also get to see my reaction to the video that my brother edited.

Lessons

  • “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step” – you cannot change what you don’t acknowledge so accepting that I’m a control freak and taking a closer look at how it has affected my life was a humbling process, but it was a necessary.
  • Rome wasn’t built in a day” – I’m only in the early stages of a metamorphosis from hopefully a caterpillar into a butterfly and it’s going to get a whole lot more painful and challenging before I fully transform.
Leave a Reply

