Carlton Café: Go-to-place for good food & a chilled vibe

After a fun night out of overindulging with friends all I wanted was a scrumptious brunch that would make me forget about my heavy head. I headed to Carlton Café in 13th Street, Menlo Park Centre, a place I discovered while visiting Hazel Food Market.

It has beautiful decor which incorporates retro and modern elements and I love the vegetable and herb boxes that surround the outside sitting area.

20151024_120907

The menu offers a good variety of choices, nothing boring though, they do their own spin on traditional dishes like the putu pap with fried biltong and mascarpone.

I decided to go for the special of the day; tapas platter which included red wine cured beef, French brie, toasted pita bread, fresh blueberries, slices of peach and a cranberry cream cheese.

While I waited I ordered the ginger beer, it was refreshing and delicious with just the right amount of ginger and the chilli flakes and fresh chill pepper gave it that punch.

20151024_120237

One thing to note is that the restaurant does not sell alcohol but you are more than welcome to bring your own liquor; there is even a liquor store literally metres away.

My food tasted as good it looked, I particularly enjoyed the cranberry cream cheese and all in all the flavours complemented each other, including the sweetness from the fruits and the creamy French Brie which has a fitting nickname, “The Queen of Cheeses.”

20151024_120050

Another thing that I love about this place is that they have a food shop next door called Delicious which sells deli items, cakes, pastries, cookware and much more.

20151024_122106

They trade from 07:30 to 16:00 on Mondays, 07:30 to 17:00 on Tuesday to Fridays, 7:30 to 14:00 on Saturdays and are closed on Sundays.

Leave a Reply

